Research Guides: Researching a School in the Bronx: Websites

Bronx Neighborhoods

Childhood in the Bronx: Contemporary Photographs by Georgeen Comerford & Vintage Photographs from the Collections of the Bronx Chamber of Commerce Archives
contains digitized contemporary photographs by Georgeen Comerford and vintage images, with oral history sound excerpts, from collections of Bronx Institute Archives of Leonard Lief Library (Digital METRO New York project, 2009).
---Click View Exhibit, and search by All Photos, Contemporary, or Vintage Photographs with Sound
Bronx Business for Everybody
Contains digitized photographs, articles, and minutes from Bronx Chamber of Commerce Collection
Note:
-Gallery Highlights
-Activities for Children & Youth
-View Collection n Digital Collections of Metropolitan New York
Bronx Architecture
An online guide to architecture of the borough developed by Lehman College Art Gallery. Designed as companion to "Public Art in the Bronx," the website features over 75 buildings, background on architects, neighborhood walking tours, maps, lesson plans for high school teachers, neighborhood histories, resource section, and glossary.
Note:
--Architectural Highlights
---Architectural Sites
---Tours and Maps
Public Art in the Bronx
Provides an overview of works in public places from the earliest created in the 19th century, those produced under WPA, as well as more recent projects produced by Percent for Art, Arts for Transit, Health and Hospitals Corporation, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, New York State Dormitory Authority, and Public Art Fund.
Note:
---Sites
---Neighborhood Note
---Walking Tours & Map

Tips

...The cornerstone on a public building will tell you the year it was built..

...The school website may have information about events, student life, links for parents and children, contacts

See: e.g., P.S. 89--The Williamsbridge School https://www.ps89x.org/

...If you enter an address in the Google search box you will likely see an area map & a photo.

E.g, enter: 1928 University Ave. + Bronx.

When you click the photo you can use the arrow to "walk" around the neighborhood.