Reference articles on utopian movements
Each of the references below is a clickable link that take you to a site where you can find that article. Some of the links go directly to certain databases, but most take you to OneSearch, Lehman library's main search engine. Once you are there, look for where it says "View online" and "Try a link below!" Click on a link under that. You will be taken to another database. Follow the cues from there to get to the article.
Newspaper and magazine articles on utopianism
Ama Rasingam, Amarnath, and Rory Dickson. “How ISIS Gets Its Western Recruits; Unlike Other Radical Islamist Groups, Islamic State Fighters Are Making Their ‘Utopian’ Vision a Reality on the Ground.” National Post (Toronto), October 3, 2014.
“Denunciations, Beatings and Book Burnings: When a Utopian Dream Turned Sour; Akash Kapur’s Thought-Provoking Book Looks at How the Good Intentions of the Hippie Generation Went Horribly Wrong at Auroville in India.” The Telegraph Online, July 24, 2021.
Emerson, George. “Socialist Software: Red Hat Software’s Bob Young Dismissed the Open-Software Movement as a Utopian Fantasy. Then Linux Took Off.” Report on Business Magazine, vol. 15, no. 6, Dec. 1998, pp. 123-4, 126.
Leach, Susan Llewelyn. “From Ancient Eden to the Hippie Era - Searching for Utopia New York Public Library Launches a New Exhibition on the Perfect Place: ALL Edition.” The Christian Science Monitor, October 19, 2000.
Pavord, Anna. “Garden Style: Utopian Dreamers; The Arts and Crafts Movement, Led by William Morris, Had a Dream to Create Utopia in the Nation’s Back Gardens. Anna Pavord Assesses Their Legacy. Photographs by Martin Charles.” Independent (London, England).
“Scotland United in Curiosity as Councils Trial Universal Basic Income; Four Local Authorities Tasked with Turning Utopian Fantasy into Reality with Backing of First Minister and Multi-Party Support.” The Guardian (London), December 25, 2017.
Tillotson, Kristin. “Let’s Stay Together; Three ‘Intentional Communities’ in the Twin Cities Find Strength in Numbers by Sharing Common Spaces, Expenses and Camaraderie.” Star Tribune (Minneapolis, MN), May 2, 2012, p. 1–.
“Tory Environmental Policy Owes More to Greta Thunberg Than It Does to Conservatism; Instead of the Pragmatic Environmentalism of Sir Roger Scruton, Ministers Pursue Eco-Utopianism.” The Telegraph Online, October 27, 2021.
Peer-reviewed articles on utopianism around the world
Bramwell Amadasun, Akongbowa, and Henry Igiebor Oghoator. “Utopianism and Regional Integration of Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): The Dilemma of Global Politics.” Liberian Studies Journal, vol. 37, no. 2, 2012, pp. 27–49.
Faulk, Karen Ann. “‘Recuperar El Trabajo’: Utopia and the Work of Recovery in an Argentine Cooperativist Movement.” The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology, vol. 21, no. 2, 2016, pp. 294–316.
Massidda, Adriana L. “Utopian Visions for Buenos Aires Shantytowns: Collective Imaginaries of Housing Rights, Upgrading and Eviction (1956–2013).” Bulletin of Latin American Research, vol. 37, no. 2, 2018, pp. 144–159.
Natale, Simone, and Andrea Ballatore. “The Web Will Kill Them All: New Media, Digital Utopia, and Political Struggle in the Italian 5-Star Movement.” Media, Culture, and Society, vol. 36, no. 1, 2014, pp. 388–413.
Poldervaart, Saskia. “Utopian Aspects of Social Movements in Postmodern Times: Some Examples of DIY Politics in the Netherlands.” Utopian Studies, vol. 12, no. 2, Society for Utopian Studies, 2001, pp. 143–63.
Peer-reviewed articles on utopianism in sociopolitical movements
Badaan, Vivienne, et al. “Imagining Better Societies: A Social Psychological Framework for the Study of Utopian Thinking and Collective Action.” Social and Personality Psychology Compass, vol. 14, no. 4, 2020.
Fernando, Julian, Nicholas Burden, Adam Ferguson, Léan O’Brien, Madeline Judge, and Yoshihisa Kashima. “Functions of Utopia: How Utopian Thinking Motivates Societal Engagement.” Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin, vol. 44, no. 5, pp. 779–792.
Finn, Megan, and Quinn DuPont. “From Closed World Discourse to Digital Utopianism: The Changing Face of Responsible Computing at Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility (1981-1992).” Internet Histories, vol. 4, no. 1, 2020, pp. 6–31.
Reference books on utopianism
These aren't articles, but if you need to look things up about utopian communities and movements, these are good resources.
Christensen, Karen, and David Levinson. Encyclopedia of Community, 4 volumes. Sage Publications, Inc., 2003. This link goes to OneSearch.
Fogarty, Robert S. Dictionary of American Communal and Utopian History. Greenwood, 1980. This link goes to Internet Archive. Create free account to “borrow” (access) this scanned book electronically.
Morris, James. Historical Dictionary of Utopianism. Scarecrow Press, 2004. This link goes to the Internet Archive. Create free account to “borrow” (access) this scanned book electronically.
Sutton, Robert P. Modern American Communes: A Dictionary. Greenwood, 2005. This link goes to OneSearch.
Trahair, Richard C. S. Utopias and Utopians: An Historical Dictionary. Routledge, 1999. This book is accessible publicly via Google Scholar, here: Click where it says: [PDF] archive.org.
The reference listings on this page were compiled by Paul Sager, reference and instruction librarian at the Lehman College library, in February 2022, at Professor Charlene Cambridge's request.