Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Restorative Justice

Welcome to the Restorative Justice Research Tutorial

Hello students. Sending you all good wishes.

The videos and activities below have been created to help you be able to identify appropriate databases and search techniques to search for articles on your topic. You will also learn how to sign up for an Illiad (Inter Library Loan) account so you can request articles not available in our databases. As Lehman students you should be able to access the articles you need without paying a fee.

Good luck with your research. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.

With warm regards,

Alison Lehner-Quam

Education Librarian

Restorative Justice Research Tutorial

The video below, "Searching Databases with Keywords" provides a very helpful overview on searching with keywords.

Use the "Planning Your Search" document to map out your search using keywords. As you plan out your Advanced Search on paper using the three search boxes and the AND and OR operators, remember to keep your search terms simple and to place one idea in each box.

The video below will show you how to access the Education Source or ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) databases from your mobile device.

 

The video below "Searching Databases on Your Mobile Device" will demonstrate how to combine databases such as ERIC, Education Source, APA PsycArticles, Social Sciences Full Text and other databases from the Restorative Justice Education Research Guide into a single search. You will also learn how to use keywords to search for articles on finding articles on the research topic "quality services for young women who have been abused." You will also learn how to email yourself an article in pdf format with an APA citation embedded in the email.

View the "Searching Education Source and Other Relevant Databases" video to learn how to combine databases in a single search and how to use the subject heading links to find articles and to learn about the way that information is organized in the database.

View the "Searching ProQuest Public Health" video to learn how to find articles using a basic search in the database.

Now use the search plan to conduct your own search of selected databases. If you have any questions about database choice or searching, you can log into the 24/7 chat service or email Lehman Education Librarian Alison Lehner-Quam (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu).

Search Strategies

This document provides information on using AND and OR to improve your search. It also provides tips on phrase searching using quotation marks.