Skip to Main Content

Selecting Quality Journals for Academic Publishing: Home

This guide supported the Predatory Publishing workshop on the Lehman College Campus (February 26, 2016).

Subject Discipline Criteria

Each academic discipline has unique ways of evaluating publications. Therefore, remain active in discipline-specific associations, consult with your departmental chairperson or consider publications where you have previously found excellent articles.

Journal Citation Reports from Web of Science

Journal Citation Reports
Web of Science
Search the worlds leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns

Master Journal List
After creating an account, you can match your manuscript to relevant journals by inputting your manuscript's title or abstract.

Scopus database

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Example journal ranking

Elsevier now provides three alternative views of the citation impact a journal makes:

Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), The Impact per Publication (IPP), and SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)

The three different impact metrics are all based on methodologies developed by external bibliometricians and use Scopus as the data source. Via this website, the three journal metrics are provided free of charge.

Screenshots: Article Metrics in Scopus
View these screenshots to learn about how to find article metrics in Scopus. The example here is a Lehman Professor's article.
Example article citation metrics

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Webinar: How to Spot a Predatory Publisher

Cambridge University

Cambridge University checklist re Predatory Publishers

City Tech's Publication Quality Guide

Search re Publication Quality, OA Publishing, Journal Ranking & Citation Analysis

Graduate Center Library's Research Metrics Glossary

Glossary: Research Metrics (CUNY Grad Center)
These definitions for terms relating to metrics for academic publishing can be viewed via CUNY Graduate Center's Research Guide on Research Metrics.

Publish or Perish Software Program

About Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and (since release 4.1) Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents metrics.

Search Google Scholar's Subject Metrics

Metrics via Google Scholar

Screenshot: Google Scholar Metrics

Open Access Journal Quality Indicators

Grand Valley Rubric
Positive and Negative indicators checklist

Think.Check.Submit

Choosing the right journal for your research
Think. Check. Submit. is a campaign to help researchers identify trusted journals for their research. It is a simple checklist researchers can use to assess the credentials of a journal or publisher.

The campaign has been produced with the support of a coalition from across scholarly communications in response to discussions about deceptive publishing.
About think.check.submit

Quality Open Access Market

QOAM is a market place for scientific and scholarly journals which publish articles in open access.
Quality scoring of the journals in QOAM is based on academic crowd sourcing; price information includes institutional licensed pricing.

Retraction Watch

Examines scholarly and scientific misconduct by academics and scientists

Journal Author Name Estimator

JANE
To help identify high-quality journals, JANE now tags journals that are currently indexed in MEDLINE, and open access journals approved by the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).

GUIDE AUTHOR: Martha Lerski, martha.lerski@lehman.cuny.edu 718.960.7763

Martha Lerski, Leonard Lief Library

Last Updated: Feb 6, 2024 11:21 AM
URL: https://libguides.lehman.edu/selecting_quality_journals_faculty
Print Page

Subjects: Faculty Resources

Tags: Academic Publishing, journal impact factor, predatory publishing, publishing metrics, scholarly journal