Skip to main content

Exploration: Imaginative Learning and Innovative Teaching : Past Workshops and Events

Explore the arts’ role in teaching and learning. Workshops feature materials from the Leonard Lief Library.

The Celebration and Exhibit

Leonard Lief Library, School of Arts and Humanities, School of Education, and Lincoln Center Education invite you to a

Celebration of the Library’s Acquisition of the Lincoln Center Institute Collection and exhibit opening

Engaging Students through Imaginative Learning: Lehman College, Lincoln Center Institute, and the LCI Collection

The exhibit celebrates and highlights the inquiry into works of art that have inspired and engaged Lehman College students and faculty through the partnership with Lincoln Center Institute. Featured in the exhibit are print and media highlights from the collection, works of art that have inspired learning, student voices, faculty publications, and an exploration of the inquiry process.

Thursday, September 26, 2013, 3:30 – 5:00 PM

Leonard Lief Library Gallery

The Innovation Series

Innovation:
Imagination and Learning: The Lincoln Center Institute Collection

A Three-Part Series
Location: Library - Treehouse Conference Room 317


Description: This series will explore the role the arts play in teaching and learning, and will highlight Lincoln Center Education’s Capacities for Imaginative Learning. Books featured in the Innovation series are from the LCI Collection recently acquired by the Leonard Lief Library.
Audience: Open to faculty, students, and the community

Thursday, October 10, 2013, 6:00 - 7:30 PM
In Praise of Meandering: Writing Poetry as Part of the Inquiry Process
Amanda Gulla, Middle and High School Education
RSVP: http://innovationpoetry.eventbrite.com

This workshop represents one possible way to interweave poetry into the process of inquiry. Amanda Gulla will share poems inspired by works of art, otherwise known as Ekphrastic Poetry. She will lead a discussion on the role responses to art can play in inquiry-based learning. Participants will have the opportunity to write their own poems in response to works of art found in books from the LCI Collection recently acquired by the Leonard Lief Library.

 

Thursday, October 24, 2013, 4:00 - 5:30 PM
Developing Capacities for Imaginative Learning
Abigail McNamee and Cecilia Espinosa, Early Childhood and Childhood Education
RSVP: http://innovationcapacities.eventbrite.com

Imagination is the crux of learning that enhances cognitive as well as social and emotional growth in instructors, teacher candidates, and children ... of all ages. Lincoln Center Education has developed ten Capacities for Imaginative Learning. This workshop will introduce these Capacities, and focus on the first, Noticing Deeply, through learning experiences with a picture book, Frederick by Leo Lionni. This book and others featured in the Innovation series are from the LCI Collection recently acquired by the Leonard Lief Library.

 

Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 4:00 - 5:30 PM
An Inquiry into Visual Art at Lehman College
Alison Shapiro, Lincoln Center Education Visual Arts Teaching Artist
RSVP: http://innovationvisualarts.eventbrite.com

This workshop will provide participants with an introduction to Lincoln Center Education’s unique, inquiry-based approach to teaching and learning. It will include studying and viewing the Lehman College campus sculpture, The King, contextual research from the Lincoln Center Institute book collection, and experiential activities led by an LCI Teaching Artist.