Skip to main content

Childhood Education: Children's Literature

This guide provides an overview of childhood education resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.


Use this search box to find books, articles, ebooks, and media.
What am I searching?  

Search the Library Catalog

Search the CUNY online catalog to find books, multimedia materials, and other resources.

  | Advanced Search  | My Account

New Picture Books at Lehman

Each year we add new books to the Juvenile Collection in the Leonard Lief Library. These are some of the newest titles in the collection:

Children's Literature Websites

Browsing the Juvenile Collection


Within each classification number (e.g. PZ7) works are organized by the author’s last name.

Classification Number Contents
PZ 7 Fiction by authors whose first works were published between 1870 and 2014
PZ 7.1 Fiction by authors whose first works are published in 2015 and beyond
Other PZ Class. Numbers Contents
PZ 5  Collections of works by different authors
PZ 7.5  Novels in verse
PZ 8    Traditional fairy tales
​PZ 8.1  Folklore and legends
PZ 8.2  Fables
PZ 8.3  Nursery rhymes and stories in rhyme
Higher PZ numbers  Juvenile fiction in languages other than English


Classification Number Contents
A General works
B Philosophy. Psychology. Religion
C Auxiliary sciences of history
D World history and history of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E & F History of the Americas
G Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
H Social sciences
J & K Political science & Law
L Education
M  & N Music & Fine arts
P Language and literature (Criticism, Plays, Short Stories, Poetry)
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology
U  & V       Military science & Naval science
Z   Bibliography. Library science. Information resources

Award-winning Books Gold dot on the spine

Books with Spanish Green dot on the spine

Graphic Novels Graphic novels and comics are classified in the Lehman Collection in the Juvenile Graphic section. This section is shelved by the Library Education office (Room 318).

Bilingual-Bicultural Literacy Collection Books are shelved in the first shelf range of the Juvenile Collection.

Wordless Picture Books Books are on a shelf on the north wall of the Juvenile Collection.

Holiday Books Books are shelved on the north wall of the Juvenile Collection.

Realistic Fiction Books are shelved on the north wall of the Juvenile Collection.

Historic Children’s Books Books are shelved on the north wall of the Juvenile Collection.

Searching for Books for Children and Young Adults in OneSearch

Searching for books for children and young adults in the Lehman Catalog:

In OneSearch--Advanced Search

Change "Any Field" to: "Subject heading"

In the first search box type in the type of book or subject of the book that you would like to find, e.g.: 


Board books



Stories in rhyme

Stories without words

Add Juvenile or Fiction in the second search box to limit to books in our Juvenile Collection.

Remember to filter your search to Availability: Items Currently on Shelf. Sort by Date (Most Recent).


Children's Book Guides

Children's Literature Journals

Click on the title to find out in which databases the journal is included.


Book Links

The Horn Book

Journal of Children's Literature

Lion and the Unicorn

Reading Teacher

School Library Journal

Book Lists