Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undergraduate Education: Early Childhood and Childhood

Welcome to the Theories and Theorists Tutorial

Hello students.

The videos and activities below have been created to help you find educational theorists information for your assignments. You will learn how to use a reference eBook database to find overview information on your theorists and/or theory, OneSearch to find books and articles, databases to find articles by and about your theorists, and Google Scholar to find articles and books by and about your theorist.

The Theories and Theorists resources are searchable below each video.

Good luck with your research. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.

With warm regards,

Alison Lehner-Quam

Education Librarian

How to Find Information on Educational Theorists

The "Finding Reference Articles in Gale Ebooks" video will help you navigate the Gale Ebooks database to find reference articles on your education theorist and/or theory. You will learn how to email articles to yourself and how to mine the bibliographies for additional resources. The Gale Ebooks link is posted below the video. Click on the video to make it full screen.

Reference Research Sources for Theorists

Select "Gale eBooks" from the Gale database menu

Finding Resources in OneSearch

The "Finding Educational Theorist Articles and Books in OneSearch" video you will learn how to find articles, books and other media in the library's OneSearch discovery tool. You will learn how to filter your search results to locate ebooks, articles, and books by and about your theorist. Use the OneSearch box below the video to search for theorists and theories.

Search the Library Catalog

Advanced Search What am I searching?


Searching for Theorists in the EBSCO Databases and in Google Scholar

The "Searching Theorists in EBSCO Databases" video below provides tips for using the Boolean AND operator to focus your search on your theorist as well as the theory. It also features information on using the Guide links to search for articles by your theorist as well as articles about your theorist. Scroll down below the videos to access the links to theories and theorists and EBSCO databases and Google Scholar.

When you access Google Scholar from a Lehman Library site you will find articles that are linked to the Lehman databases. Look for the Find Fulltext at Lehman link in the right column. Google Scholar is a helpful way to access articles from multiple databases in a single search.