Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undergraduate Education: Early Childhood and Childhood

Welcome to the ECE 304 Information Literacy Tutorial

Hello Lehman ECE 304 students. Sending you all good wishes.

The videos and activities below have been created to help you be able to search for articles on your topic in the Education Source database using selected journals.

Good luck with your searches. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.

With warm regards,

Alison Lehner-Quam

Education Librarian

ECE 304 Information Literacy Tutorial

Watch the "Searching Databases with Keywords video" and then use the "Planning Your Search" document to map out your search.

 

Watch the "ECE 304 Accessing the Library Database" video below for information on how to access the 24/7 chat service from the Lehman Library Homepage.

It also shows you how to access the Undergraduate Education: Early Childhood and Childhood Research Guide and how to limit your search to selected journals by copying the ISSNs (International Standard Serial Numbers) into the Education Source database search box.

 

Now that you have logged into the Education Source database, watch "ECE 304 Searching the Education Source Database" for database searching information. You will also learn how to email yourself an article in pdf format with an APA citation embedded in the email.

Now use the search plan to conduct your own search of selected journals in the Education Source database. If you have any questions, you can log into the 24/7 chat service or email Lehman Education Librarian Alison Lehner-Quam (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu).

Search Strategies

This document provides information on using AND and OR to improve your search. It also provides tips on phrase searching using quotation marks.