Research Guides: Remote Resources: NYPL Resources

Digital Library Cards

Getting a Digital Library Card via the NYPL Website

All students, faculty, and staff at colleges and universities throughout New York State are eligible for an NYPL library card, and can sign up to gain immediate access* to the Library’s remote resources here [nypl.org].

*Important note: students and faculty at NYS institutions who are signing up from a computer outside of New York State will not receive immediate remote access and should validate their card by email following the instructions in the new user welcome email.

Get a Library Card through the SimplyE App

NYPL library cards are also available via the SimplyE app. Access instructions for iOS and Android are below:

iOS: https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started/ios

Android: https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral/simplye/getting-started/android

OverDrive
A large collection of eBooks and Streaming Films

Databases

The following resources are available for access with a valid NYPL card, and access to each resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of each database provider.

History and Humanities

America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers, 1690-1922; America's Urban Centers Newspaper Collection, 1807-1880; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities.
Ancestry
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com
Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias

Music and Theatre

Business

LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes. Patrons should refer to LinkedIn's Privacy Policy and Website Use Policy before starting. To log in, please click on "Get Started" and enter your NYPL library card number or username and your PIN.

Emerging Markets-Internet Securities (EMIS)
Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry trends, market research and trends organized in 32 industry research centers. Find statistics, industry data, company contacts, organizations, market trends and more.

For more remote resources from NYPL, please visit https://www.nypl.org/about/remote-research-resources

Online Programming

All NYPL virtual and onsite program details can be accessed via their Events [nypl.org] page, but much of our Research-specific programming can also be found on our Center for Research in the Humanities [nypl.org] website. These events are often followed by a blog post [nypl.org], which includes the video and related research resources.