Research Guides: BIO 400/644: Biological Chemistry Course Guide: Finding Scholarly Articles

Peer-Reviewed, Refereed, Scholarly

A peer-reviewed (refereed) article is evaluated by fellow specialists of research. This evaluation is done to assess an article's publication requirements and guidelines for publication.

A scholarly article is concerned with academic learning and research.

What is an academic journal article?

Databases for Scholarly Articles in Biochemistry

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the search interface for MEDLINE, NLM's journal citation database. PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central (PMC), the free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature and 3) the National Center of Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf (free online books). Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers Web sites.
American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Web editions of American Chemical Society journals. Over 30 full-text journals and ACS Archives back to 1879.
Scopus
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.
Web of Science
Search the worlds leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns