Skip to main content

Online Library Resources

http://cdn.pearltrees.com/s/pic/sq/articles-databases-library-3743083

Biography in Context

Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Contains over 50,000 biographies of the men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Contemporary Authors

Biographical coverage of more than 100,000 writers, entries on contemporary authors.

 

Book Review Index Online

A comprehensive source for book reviews from 1965 to the present.

 

Brill Online Books and Journals

Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online

Provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities.

Books & Authors

Suggests new fiction and nonfiction titles to read.

 

Literature Online is by far the best database for literature. Run your search in "All Criticism." Click on this icon to start:

http://lib.gccaz.edu/lmc/databases/_images/LION.png

Twayne's Authors Series

Contains the full text of frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors. Discontinued by Hunter College Libraries/CUNY in January 2017.

 

New Yorker Digital Archive

The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, 1925-present.