Research Guides: Political Science: Databases

Reference Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Search across authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedia and reference books for definitions and background information.
Country Studies
Background information and history of countries of the world from the Library of Congress

African American Studies Center
AASC features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-to present, African American National Biography project. AASC also features the three-volume Black Women in America, Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on topics related to business and economics, including economic development.

CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. CQ Researcher offers online access to issues dating back to October 25, 1991.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Useful for finding general articles on the impact and efficacy of NGOs in general. Better results will be found with broader searches.

Military and Government Collection (Ebsco)
Designed to offer articles pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database covers full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexes and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Military and Intelligence Database Collection
Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on political and social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles
War and Terrorism Collection
Selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.