Public Health

Portal to Our Health - Health Topics A-Z; Community Health Profiles available through Data - Publications- comprehensive reports that detail the health of all New York City neighborhoods.

EpiQuery is an online interactive portal that provides data on the health of New Yorkers from a variety of sources, including surveys, surveillance data (disease reporting) and vital records (births and deaths).

"capture the health of 59 community districts across the city. The most comprehensive reports of neighborhood health ever produced . . . define a broader picture of neighborhood health including conditions such as housing quality, air pollution, and types of food accessible."

The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time.

A useful tool for performing community assessments. Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and much more featuring data from New York City and New York State. The 2010 Census data by zip code is now available. COVID-19 Data by Zip Code now available.

Portal to information on Diseases and Conditions, Statistics and Data and other topics concerning New Yorker's health.

A resource for community health planners, practitioners, and policy developers. Provides data, local health planning documents and examples.

New York State has a large, multi-faceted mental health system that serves more than 700,000 individuals each year. The Office of Mental Health (OMH) operates psychiatric centers across the State, and also regulates, certifies and oversees more than 4,500 programs, which are operated by local governments and nonprofit agencies. These programs include various inpatient and outpatient programs, emergency, community support, residential and family care programs

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) offers data resources, tools, and research related to SDOH, as well as funding opportunities to explore various areas of influence.

The world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. Currently, data are collected monthly in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.

Sources for Data on Social Determinants of Health

Dept. of Health and Human Services’ public health agency. Provides data, statistics and information on various health and safety topics.

Federal agency that administers Medicare, Medicaid and State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Look at “Research, Statistics, Data & Systems” section.

The Health, United States program provides national trends in health statistics

Healthy People is a set of goals and objectives with 10-year targets designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the Nation’s health.

The Social Determinants of Health topic area within Healthy People 2020 is designed to identify ways to create social and physical environments that promote good health for all.

Topics: Disparities Policy; Global Health Policy; Health Costs; Health Reform; Medicaid; Medicare; Private Insurance; Uninsured; Women's Health Policy.
Facts - State Health Facts.

An electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy. It is offered as a no-charge resource to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers interested in the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities.

Established in 1937, NCI is the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training.

NCHS provides a number of resources for quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance.

NIMH is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

he National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to quality health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context.

SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Mortality Database: Causes of death by age and sex
Global Health Estimates: Assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors
Global Health Observatory: Portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation