Middle and High School Education - Social Studies Education

From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.

Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.

Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far. 

Provides access to full-text information from over 10,000 sources, including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This database also provides access to U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, international legal information and Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases.

SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Watch a recorded demo of Sage Research Methods through the link below:

Sage Research Methods

Features more than 1,600,000 records with sociology subject headings from 15,600-term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Covers broad range of studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.

Features more than 1,600,000 records with sociology subject headings from 15,600-term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Covers broad range of studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.

Search the worlds leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns
 

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History 1896-present, African American National Biography, Dictionary of African Biography, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. It also includes entries from the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography.

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

The collection, drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, is comprised of over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections, and focuses on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.

Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media

To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en

A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree.