Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle and High School Education- Science Education

This Research Guide on Science Education is for courses in the Department of Middle and High School Education

Welcome to the Science Education Research Tutorial

Hello students in the Science Education degree program. Sending you all good wishes.

The videos and activities below have been created to help you be able to identify appropriate databases and search techniques to search for articles on your topic. You will also learn how to sign up for an ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) account so you can request articles not available in our databases. As Lehman students you should be able to access the articles you need without paying a fee.

Good luck with your research. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.

With warm regards,

Alison Lehner-Quam

Education Librarian

Video Tutorial: Getting Started with your Research

The handouts below can be helpful planning documents for you as you plan your search. Use the Inquiry Wheel handout to develop your topic further and to brainstorm components of your search.

Use the Search Planning handout to plan your key words and search strategies.

Watch the Inquiry Process video for background information on the iterative nature of research.

Watch the "Searching Databases with Keywords" video and then use the "Planning Your Search" document to map out your search.

Science Education Research Tutorial

 

The video below "Searching the Education Source Database for Articles on Feedback" will demonstrate how to log into the Education Source database from a Research Guide. You will also learn how to combine different subject databases with Education Source, how to use keywords to search for articles on feedback for Middle School and High School students, and how to email yourself an article in pdf format with an APA citation embedded in the email.

Now use the search plan to conduct your own search of selected databases. If you have any questions about database choice or searching, you can log into the 24/7 chat service or email Lehman Education Librarian Alison Lehner-Quam (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu).

Search Strategies

This document provides information on using AND and OR to improve your search. It also provides tips on phrase searching using quotation marks.