Database Searching - MSH 331 - Baroque / Tilley - Research Guides at CUNY Lehman College

Finding Databases

1. Go to Library website: http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/library

2. Click on Database A-Z List

3. Browse Music Databases

Search Tutorials - Academic Journal Databases

Try Google Scholar

Music Databases

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians [2nd edition], New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz [2nd edition], Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music [2nd edition].
RILM (Index) This link opens in a new window
Produced by Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels. From hip hop to Hndel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information.
Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hnssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers.

Academic Journal Databases

J-STOR

Project Muse
Offers nearly 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

"Find-It!" & ILLiad

Using Find-It! & ILLiad to Locate Journal Articles

Search results contain some articles that only have citations and abstracts. "FIND-IT!" generates a search on all subscription databases at Lehman to locate the FULL TEXT of these articles.

Databases at NYPL

Most of the music related databases available through the New York Public Library are only accessible at one of the research branches in the system. You can locate the research libraries at: http://www.nypl.org/locations

NYPL Music Databases

Some NYPL music databases of note:

Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series

The Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series is a tool for finding individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions, as it indexes each individual piece in a collection. Music for specific performing forces is easily retrievable, thus offering detailed repertory for performers, conductors, and directors of ensembles.

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text

Indexes over 350 and provides full text for nearly 100 international music periodicals from more than twenty countries, with over 50 of the publications indexed exclusively in IIMP. IIMP is both current and retrospective with over 30,000 records dating from 1996 to the present and other records dating as far back as 1874.

Music Index Online

The Music Index Online edition features over 1.4 million records. The searchable database is updated quarterly with about 100,000 new records added annually.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals: 1800-1950

An index of specialized music journals, daily newspapers, articles in literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines, as well as engravings and lithographs in the illustrated press.

General Historical Background

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Guide to history of the world from 1450 to the present, this authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.

MSH 331 - Baroque / Tilley: Database Searching