Physics: Web Resources

The American Physical Society provides effective programs in support of the physics community and the conduct of physics; and collaborates with national scientific societies for the advancement of science, science education and the science community.

Dedicated to the advancement of physics, AIP serves a federation of physical science societies, and provides leadership through its own programs and publications.

The Institute of Physics is devoted to increasing the practice, understanding and application of physics. It is a leading communicator of physics-related science to all audiences, from specialists to government and the general public. IOP Publishing, is a world leader in scientific publishing and the electronic dissemination of physics.

The new site IPL2: Information You Can Trust, merging the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians Internet Index (LII), features a searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites; links to online texts, newspapers, and magazines; special sections for kids and teens; and a collection on IPL2-generated special collections on a variety of topics.

A portal for science information from the U.S. government. The site includes cross-searching of 30 databases as well as links to science pages contributed by 12 federal agencies. It offers an advanced search as well as a browsable directory of resources by topic.

Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS), the Virtual Journals series is an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of source journals in the physical sciences. Papers are selected from all journals published by APS and AIP, plus a number of journals from other publishers.

Includes physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, and nuclear physics data. From the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

News from the world of physics. Sponsored by the Institute of Physics, this site includes a "Best of PhysicsWeb" section with a selection of articles organized by subfield as well as a collection of resources for physicists and physics students.

A commercial site rich in news and general information. It contains links to reference sites and materials for physics teachers and students.

Provides abstracts and, in some cases, links to full text of research publications in fields such as chemistry, physics, materials science, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, and related disciplines. This database covers publications from 1948 to the present and is made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information at the U.S. Department of Energy.

A searchable database of full-text reports of research projects sponsored by the Department of Energy in physics, chemistry, materials science, biology, environmental science, energy technologies, engineering, renewable energy, and other topics from 1995 to present. The database is made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information at the U.S. Department of Energy.