AAS/HIS 245 History of African Americans

NYPL digitized papers from NYPL related to Adolphus Phillipse whose vast manor extended from Spuyten Duyvil (Bronx) to Croton, NY. (Westchester).

books, newspapers and periodicals, journals, images, maps, tools, 17th - 21st century sources

Good overview on the African American experience drawing on the collections of the Library of Congress. Also includes web site links for Frederick Douglass, Jackie Robinson, slave narratives, and the courts.

Organizations, Education, Popular Culture, Political Prisoners, Coalitions, The Look, Black Arts Movement, Spreading the Word, and Black Power International.

Video oral histories and transcripts; includes national survey of
other collections.

19th century Black organizing

Provide access to digital collections of primary resources concerning slavery. For primary resources on slavery including: race and slavery petitions; slave deeds; and life insurance (on individual slaves) sold to slave owners. These resources give context to slaves’ daily life, concerns of non-slave owners, and actions of slave owners

The story of black and white Americans who rode buses and trains in the Deep South in 1961, testing the Supreme Court mandated desegregation of interstate travel facilities.

Harlem is one of the most famous African American communities and this site covers: the neighborhood, arts and culture, and politics. See also link for Inst. for Research in African-American Studies.

Covers thirteen migrations of African-Americans including: the transatlantic and domestic slave trade; western and northern migration; the great migrations of the 20th century; reverse migrations to the south.

The only museum to look at aspects of historical and contemporary slavery; and being an international hub for resources on human rights issues.

Opened Dec. 9, 2017 the museum "promotes a greater understanding of the Mississippi Civil Rights movement and its impact." Click Learn link or the Digital Archives and Online Catalog.

Virtual exhibit from the New-York Historical Society.

Recollection of Montgomery bus boycott; correspondence with Martin Luther King, Jr., etc.

Seneca Village (1825-1857) was "Manhattan's first significant community of African American property owners." The village was razed with the construction of Central Park. This project details archeological and historical research findings about the village.

opening Sept. 24, 2016

Digital sources from libraries, museums, and archives including: photos, manuscripts, documents, books, sound and video.