It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States History: Databases
This guide is an introduction for history researchers. It contains useful links to books, databases and websites.
African American history, culture and society in the 19th and 20th centuries. Features over 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. The publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports, etc.
Features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History 1896-present, African American National Biography, Dictionary of African Biography, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. It also includes entries from the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography.
CORRESPONDENCE AND OTHER WRITINGS OF SIX MAJOR SHAPERS OF THE UNITED STATES: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
The New York Times (1851-2017) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.