Research Guides: Country Studies: Databases & Journals

Databases

The Library databases contain authoritative articles that have been digitized to an HTML or PDF file format from original print articles.

To find a specific term in a document or page:

On a PC keyboard click on: CTRL + F
On a Mac keyboard click on: CMD(Command) + F
A search bar will pop up where you can enter a term like "immigration". The term will be highlighted throughout the document or text.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) - Atlas
The interactive map provides access to country reports provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
The subjects covered include accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory and planning. You can limit by geographic region.
Nexis Uni
Research countries socioeconomic profiles and news.

Opposing Viewpoints
Provides information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Oxford Reference Online
This resource provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Regional Business News
Collection of full-text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic, and other diverse, international news events.

Business Source Complete
Under Publication Type select "Country Reports".
Enter the country you are researching in search bar and click Search.
Global Issues in Context
Social Sciences Full-Text (Wilson Web)
Selected scholarly periodicals in the social sciences (anthropology, political science, sociology, geography and economics, etc.)
Statista
Search Sample 1: Venezuela immigration.
Search Sample 2: Go to "Reports". Choose "Country and Region Reports". Under "Filter" choose a country.
World Higher Education Database Online
This database provides quick access to the most current information on thousands of higher education institutions worldwide and data on the higher education systems of every country.

Academic Search Complete
Sample Search 1:
Click on "Access Database". Click on "Choose Databases". Check the box next to "Select / deselect all". Click "OK". Type "Venezuela immigration. Click "Search".
Statista
Search Sample 1: Venezuela immigration
Search Sample 2: Go to "Reports". Choose "Country and Region Reports". Under "Filter" choose a country.