Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of New York: City and State
Search this Guide
History of New York: City and State: Websites
HIU 348/ Lobel
CUNY Institutes and Centers
Africana Research Center
Asian-American and Asian Research Center
Calandra Italian American Institute
Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies
Center for Jewish Studies
Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Hispanic Studies
Centro --Center for Puerto Rican Studies
CUNY Dominican Studies Institute
Institute for Irish-American Studies
Social Media Contacts
Green Book: Official Directory of the City of New York
Blackout History Project
Bronx Web Sites by Lehman College
click "Digital Collections" tab for:
Bronx Business for Everybody
Childhood in the Bronx (with sound)
Public Art in the Bronx
City Spotlight: New York City
Ethnic and Foreign Language Newspapers (NYC)
5 Boros to Freedom Educates On NY Slavery
Gotham Center for New York City
How to Research the History of Buildings in Manhattan
In Motion: the African American Migration Experience
LaGuardia and Wagner Archives
Papers of Mayors--LaGuardia, Wagner, Lindsay, Beame, and Koch. NYC Housing Authority Records, Queens History.
Landmarks Preservation Comm.-- Designation Reports
National Museum of American History - Archives
Neighborhood x Neighborhood
images, newspaper articles, music scores
New Netherland Inst.: Exploring America's Dutch Heritage
New York Divided: Slavery and the Civil War Online
New York History Blog
New York History--Urban Blog
NYC Ethnic and Foreign Language Newspapers
NYC Dept. of Records and Information Services
870,000 images of maps, photographs, audio files, and motion pictures.
See: Places, Census of Places that Matter, Links, and Bibliography.
State and National Registers--Historic Places
Contains individual site reports and images.
Click "Basic Criteria" then enter County Name (Bronx, Kings, Queens, New York, or Richmond) then click "Results."
mapping historical photographs from NY Public Library
Virtual New York City
Podcasts--NYC sites and organizations
NY City Podcasts
Hear experts and scholars discuss the history and significance of many city locations and organizations.
Bronx and New York City Images
"How to Find Historical Photos of NYC"
Bronx Chamber of Commerce--Lehman Collection
Camilo Jose Vergara
Scroll down for time lapse photos--Vyse Ave., Third Ave.,
Prospect Ave., Southern Blvd., Willis Ave.
Dating Historic Images
Museum of the City of NY
Museum of the City of NY: Bronx Images
Museum of the City of NY: J. Clarence Davies Collection
New-York Historical Society
see hotlink in article to conduct search
New York Heritage Digital Collections
NYC Dept. of Records—Photos
NY Public Library: Photographic Views of New York City 1870s – 1970s
use with mapping feature from OldNYC above
mapping historical photographs from the NY Public Library;
includes Bronx locations.
Streetscapes and Townscapes of Metropolitan NY
Yesterday in the Bronx -- Postcards
Street View of 1940s New York
From 1939 -1941, the Works Progress Administration collaborated with the New York City Tax Department to collect photographs of most buildings in the five boroughs of New York City. .
Street View of 1980s New York
Click on highlighted segment to see the street or to see a featured story about some of the sites.
NYC Immigration >>
Oct 1, 2022 11:28 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
New York City Community Profiles
new york city