Research Guides: LAC 334 / Badillo: Database Searching

Finding Databases

1. Go to Library website: http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/library

2. Click on Database A-Z List

3. Browse Music Databases

Search Tutorials - Academic Journal Databases

Music Databases

Oxford Music Online
Excellent for getting background information on kinds of music and on musicians.
RILM (Index)
Produced by Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels. From hip hop to Hndel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information.

Academic Journal Databases

Hispanic American Periodicals Index
"Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States."

J-STOR

Project Muse
Offers nearly 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Academic Search Complete

"Find-It!" & ILLiad

Search results contain some articles that only have citations and abstracts. "FIND-IT!" generates a search on all subscription databases at Lehman to locate the FULL TEXT of these articles.

Using Find-It! & ILLiad to Locate Journal Articles

Databases at NYPL

Most of the music related databases available through the New York Public Library are only accessible at one of the research branches in the system. You can locate the research libraries at: http://www.nypl.org/locations

NYPL Music Databases

Some NYPL music databases of note:

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text

Indexes over 350 and provides full text for nearly 100 international music periodicals from more than twenty countries, with over 50 of the publications indexed exclusively in IIMP. IIMP is both current and retrospective with over 30,000 records dating from 1996 to the present and other records dating as far back as 1874.

Music Index Online

The Music Index Online edition features over 1.4 million records. The searchable database is updated quarterly with about 100,000 new records added annually.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals: 1800-1950

An index of specialized music journals, daily newspapers, articles in literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines, as well as engravings and lithographs in the illustrated press.

Background & Popular Press

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Excellent resource for gathering background information and overviews of topics.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition
Good for finding magazine articles.

Lexis Nexis
Use this database to find newspaper articles.