Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bronx Research: Archival Collections

Includes references to books, archival collections, digital sources and web sites sources helpful in researching the Bronx.

Leonard Lief Library -- Special Collections

Special Collections is open by appointment &  holds the Bronx Institute Archives:

   Oral history interviews     Photographs  

   Minutes    Books    Maps & atlases   

   Documents & organizational archives

 

 

Sample Collections

Notable archival collections include the following:

  • Bronx Regional and Community History Oral Collection
  • Bronx African American History Project
  • Riverdale Neighborhood House Collection
  • Papers of Jill Jonnes (South Bronx)
  • Fordham Manor Reformed Church Collection*
  • Rev. Dr. William A. Tieck Collection (Riverdale, Kingsbridge and Spuyten Duyvil
  • Robert Loeb Collection (parks and forests)
  • Bronx Chamber of Commerce Collection*

Microfilmed*

Reference Sources

•    Harvard Guide to American Ethnic Groups (Ref. E 184 .A1 H35)


•    Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States (Ref. E 184 .S75 .O97 2005)


•    Multiculturalism in the United States: A Comparative Guide to Acculturation and Ethnicity (Ref. E 184 .A1 M85 2005)


•    American Immigrant Cultures (Ref. Desk E184.A1 A63448 1997 2 vols.)


•    Encyclopedia of American Immigration (Ref. JV6465 .E53 2001 4 vols.)


•    Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (Ref. Desk E184.A1 G14 1995 2 vols.)


•    The Newest New Yorkers: Immigrant New York in the new millennium    https://www1.nyc.gov/site/planning/planning-level/nyc-population/newest-new-yorkers-2013.page


•    Atlas of Hispanic-American History (Ref. Desk E184 .S75 O287 2001)


•    The Encyclopedia of New York City (Ref. Desk F 128.3 .E75 1995)

Related Research Guides