Research Guides: HPI 101: U.S. Health Care Careers: Find Resources on Careers

Resources for Careers

Reference Resources--Overview articles on a topic:

Gale Ebooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. it is an excellent resource for general overviews.

Resources on specific professions, such as employment sector data:

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years. Use the A-Z index to browse occupations or use the search box to locate an occupation or topic.
Vocations and Careers
Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Resources to find information on trends in the workplace and in the professions:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides fulltext of 1,300 scholarly business journals covering management, marketing, banking and accounting. SWOT analyses available on companies by searching SWOT and company name.
History Makers Digital Archive
Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multicultural. Includes searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, as well as an extensive collection of photos, maps, and flags.
New York Times (Nexis Uni)
Search full-text back to June 1st, 1980, search abstracts from January 1st, 1969 to May 31st, 1980.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Free Newspaper Subscriptions

New York Times Digital
Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and apps. It also means that you can cancel your personal subscription to NYTimes.com! (But first read the Restrictions section below to make sure you want to cancel.)

How to Register for Your Free Academic Pass:

Go to nytimes.com/passes
Click Register to create a NYTimes.com account using your cuny.edu email address. If you already have a NYTimes account (free or paid) associated with your CUNY email, you need to unlink your CUNY email from that account before signing up for your Academic Pass. Log in to NYTimes.com, click your Username in the top right corner, select My Account, and replace your CUNY address with a non-CUNY one. You can then use your CUNY address to register for your pass.
At the bottom of the Welcome page, click Continue. You will be prompted to check your email. Watch for the confirmation message, which should arrive within 15 minutes.
Click the link in the confirmation email. This will simultaneously verify your eligibility and grant your Academic Pass, which will provide access to NYTimes.com for 52 weeks.
If you don't get the confirmation email, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an email from your CUNY email account to edu@nytimes.com.
Ongoing Use: Once you have activated your Academic Pass, you should have full access for 52 weeks (364 days) with no further action on your part. If you see a message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, youre probably not logged in. Simply log back in.
Renewal: As people who have signed up reach their one-year anniversary, their passes will expire, and they will start seeing the article counter again. Then, after accessing 10 articles, they will be prompted to subscribe or log in. When this happens to you, just go to https://nytimes.com/passes and sign in as an existing subscriber to enjoy another free year of access to the digital New York Times.
Apps: Your Academic Pass includes access to the NYTimes apps. Once you have registered your Academic Pass, you can access nytimes.com on most web-capable devices.

Canceling a Personal Subscription: To cancel your personal subscription, call NYTimes customer service at 1-800-NYTIMES or, if you subscribed through iTunes, follow these instructions. There may be other things you have to do, depending on the device you have been using to read the NYTimes. If you had an annual subscription, you will receive a refund for the unused portion of the year. If you had a monthly subscription, you will not receive a refund for the month in which you cancel.
Wall Street Journal Online
Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the Wall Street Journal website and apps.
How to Register for Your Free Membership:
Go to wsj.com/membership
You will need to sign in each time you use it with your membership.
1. Professor/Staff Membership Expiration
All professors & staff retain WSJ membership for one year after activating. After that, they will have to re-activate their membership.
2. Student Membership Expiration
When a student activates their membership, they are required to input their graduation date & year. This is their membership expiration date. If they graduate later than expected and lose access, they can always re-activate their membership.