Research Guides: EDOL: Doctor of Education, Organizational Leadership, Development, and Change: Find Measurement and Assessment Resources

Database Search Tips

Here are some search tips to help pull up research. Select a database(s) that cover(s) the field related to your program.

Opt for the Advanced Search option.

To find evaluation tools, place in the first box:

survey OR questionnaire OR assessment

AND in the second box place:

"program evaluation" or "program effectiveness"

AND in third box you can list the type of program for which you wish to find resources, e.g. school, hospital, or the audience that you wish your program to reach, e.g. children, parent, family, elderly

Grant Resources

Pivot
Grants, internships, and graduate and post-graduate fellowships in all subject areas. Search by keyword; set alerts for relevant opportunities.
Grant Forward
Offers thousands of grant opportunities gathered from over 9,000 U.S. Sponsors. Before using Grant Forward for the first time, you will need to register for an account. CUNY users will be recognized by their e-mail domains.

Nonprofit Finanacial Information

Guidestar
GuideStar is a public charity (501(c)(3)) that collects, organizes, and presents information on nonprofits. Create a free account to access nonprofit directory information and annual IRS reports (990 forms).

Google

Seach for 990 and the name of the nonprofit to find financial information.

About Form 990: https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-990

Educational Tests

Leonard Lief Library subscribes to the Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print in both print and electronic format. The print versions are housed at the Education Reference Desk on the 3rd floor of the library.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.

Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques and more.
Mental Measurement Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. This resource also integrates the complete Tests in Print database. produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,500 journals from over 50 countries. Provided by American Psychological Association, it includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to present.

ETS TestLink
Search for abstract and contact information for standardized educational tests.
Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing (Open Document)
The Testing Standards is a joint product of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the American Psychological Association (APA) and the National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME). Published collaboratively by the three organizations since 1966, it represents the gold standard in guidance on testing in the United States and many other parts of the world.

Program Evaluation Instruments

GENERAL

American Evaluation Association: AEA Connect
Articles provided by American Evaluation Association.
National Council of Nonprofits: Evaluation and Measurement
"The National Council of Nonprofits and its state association network encourage nonprofits to embrace a culture that supports evaluating the difference your nonprofit is making....Here are some resources to help your organization along an intentional path that we hope will lead to the most effective delivery of your nonprofit's programs and services, and advancement of its mission."
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Additional resources, including those covering a wide-range of program evaluations related to work environment and safety.

Innovations in Design and Utilization of Measurement Systems to Promote Children's Cognitive, Affective, and Behavioral Health by Steve Olson (Editor); Noam I. Keren (Editor); Forum on Promoting Children's Cognitive, Affective, and Behavioral Health Staff; Board on Children, Youth, and Families; Institute of Medicine; National Research Council
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0309367484
Publication Date: 2015-09-21

HEALTH

Agency for Health Care Research and Quality--Data and Measures Resources
Center for Disease Control Program Evaluation
CDC Evaluation Documents, Workbooks and Tools--Indicators and Performance Measures
The DHS Program: Survey Questionnaires
Since 1984, The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has provided technical assistance to more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries. Follow link to Questionnaire Modules to download pdfs of questionnaires and instructions.
New York State: Health Evidence Based Resources

Evaluation Fundamentals by Arlene G. Fink
Call Number: Reserve Textbooks RA399 .A1 F563 2015
ISBN: 9781452282008
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
Measuring Health by Ian McDowell
Call Number: RA408.5 .M38 2006
ISBN: 9780195165678
Publication Date: 2006-03-09

EDUCATION

Child & Family Data Archive
"The Child and Family Data Archive (C&F Data Archive) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. The C&F Data Archive is supported by contract #HHSP233201800021C from the Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation (OPRE)."
Inside Higher Ed Surveys
National Center for Education Statistics: National Household Education Surveys Program
Data and questionnaires from the National Household Education Surveys Program (NHES)
National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment
Resource library with articles on program level assessment, among other topics.
National Survey of Educational Progress Questionnaires

Using Evidence of Student Learning to Improve Higher Education by George D. Kuh; Stanley O. Ikenberry; Natasha Jankowski; Timothy Reese Cain; Ewell; Pat Hutchings; Jillian Kinzie
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118903735
Publication Date: 2014-12-09

SOCIAL SERVICES

Mental Measurement Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. This resource also integrates the complete Tests in Print database. produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska.

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by Joel Fischer; Kevin Corcoran
Call Number: Reference (BF176 .C66 2007 )
ISBN: 9780195181906
Publication Date: 2007-01-11
Positive Psychological Assessment by Shane J. Lopez (Editor); C. R. Snyder (Editor)
Call Number: BF176 .P67 2003
ISBN: 1557989885
Publication Date: 2003-03-15

ARTS

Government: Resources

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides fulltext of 1,300 scholarly business journals covering management, marketing, banking and accounting. SWOT analyses available on companies by searching SWOT and company name.

Social Services Web Resources

Child Welfare Information Gateway
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics.
National Association of Social Work | Evidence-Based-Practice
Learn about various social work evidence-based practice resources suggested by the National Association of Social Work.
Information for Practice
Site (http://ifp.nyu.edu) developed and maintained by Prof. Gary Holden of NYU School of Social Work to help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship.

Related Nonprofit Sites

Charity Navigator
"Charity Navigator's rating system examines two broad areas of a charity's performance; their Financial Health and their Accountability & Transparency. Our ratings show givers how efficiently we believe a charity will use their support today, how well it has sustained its programs and services over time and their level of commitment to good governance, best practices and openness with information."
Issue Lab (Foundation Center)
Foundation Center‘s mission is to connect nonprofits and funders to the knowledge they need to do their jobs better and to deepen the impact of their efforts. Through IssueLab we support ongoing learning and research in the social sector, believing in the power of the sector’s collective intelligence and the importance of open and free access to that intelligence.
Urban Institute: Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy
"The Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy works across all sectors to increase the impact of actors on the front lines of social change. By partnering with changemakers, sharing knowledge, and analyzing results, CNP is amplifying these efforts to improve practice, inform policy and advance public understanding."
American Evaluation Association
The American Evaluation Association is a professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation.