Research Guides: Introduction to Psychology (PSY 166): Find News

Finding Newspaper Articles

Unlike peer-reviewed journals, which are scholarly sources, newspapers are called popular sources. Magazines are another common type of popular source. If you aren't sure if a source is considered scholarly or popular, you can consult a table like the one below!

Suggested Newspaper Resources

New York Times
Full text access to the New York Times
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is the most recent Reveal Digital release, collects alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
News
More than 33.5 million full-text articles from more than 1,100 newspapers, including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.
Wall Street Journal
Provides fulltext articles from WSJ going back to 1984.

Free Access to New York Times and Wall Street Journal

Watch this quick video to learn how as a Lehman student you can get free online subscriptions to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal!