Welcome
This research guide will:
* Help you locate resources for Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences.
* Provide links to authoritative library databases
Lehman College
- Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences DepartmentThe Department offers both baccalaureate and masters degree programs. The B.A. program in Speech Pathology and Audiology provides students with fundamental knowledge related to normal and abnormal speech and language and basic communication processes within the context of a liberal arts and sciences education.
Speech-Language Pathologists
"Speech-language pathologists, sometimes called speech therapists, assess, diagnose, treat, and help to prevent disorders related to speech, language, cognitive-communication, voice, swallowing, and fluency. Speech-language pathologists work with people who cannot produce speech sounds or cannot produce them clearly; those with speech rhythm and fluency problems, such as stuttering; people with voice disorders, such as inappropriate pitch or harsh voice; those with problems understanding and producing language; those who wish to improve their communication skills by modifying an accent; and those with cognitive communication impairments, such as attention, memory, and problem-solving disorders. They also work with people who have swallowing difficulties."
[Excerpt taken from Occupational Outlook Handbook]
- Occupational Outlook Handbook: Speech-Language PathologistsCompiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH is a reference that includes a description of the work, training, education, earnings, job prospects, working conditions and duties of an occupation.
Audiologists
"Audiologists work with people who have hearing, balance, and related ear problems. They examine individuals of all ages and identify those with the symptoms of hearing loss and other auditory, balance, and related sensory and neural problems. They then assess the nature and extent of the problems and help the individuals manage them. Using audiometers, computers, and other testing devices, they measure the loudness at which a person begins to hear sounds, the ability to distinguish between sounds, and the impact of hearing loss on an individual's daily life. In addition, audiologists use computer equipment to evaluate and diagnose balance disorders. Audiologists interpret these results and may coordinate them with medical, educational, and psychological information to make a diagnosis and determine a course of treatment."
[Excerpt taken from Occupational Outlook Handbook]
- Occupational Outlook Handbook-AudiologistsCompiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH is a reference that includes a description of the work, training, education, earnings, job prospects, working conditions and duties of an occupation.
Librarian Liaison: Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences |
Contact Info Leonard Lief Library, Room 121A Lehman College 250 Bedford Park Blvd W. Bronx, NY 10468 718-960-8831 rebecca.arzola@lehman.cuny.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
