* Photo from GoMagazine
What's a zine?
Zines are small, self-published magazines that are usually [though not always] written by one person and distributed through an intricate network of individuals and collectives. … Zines can be about diversity, creativity, innovation, and expression.” [i]
Why make a zine?
1. Because it's an inexpensive way to create and express what you have to say!Because it's one way of sharing and building a community.
2. Because zines can influence and engage people into having a conversation
3. Zines can showcase multiple perspectives of diversity
4. Because zines can act as a form of social justice and activism
[i]Bartel, J. .From A to Zine: Building a Winning Zine Collection in Your Library. Chicago: American Library
The Leonard Lief Library Zine Collection consists of zines that reflect life in the Bronx - as well as student interests and the College curriculum. The collection is comprised of do-it-yourself donated zines from the campus - as well as purchased titles from various distros [vendors]. The collection offers current and future researchers a unique perspective on the diversity, culture, and social fabric of the Bronx.
*Photo of Lehman's Zine Collection
Guidelines of the collection [adapted from Brooklyn College’s Zine Collection Policy]:
Zines connected to the Bronx or that support the College’s programs and curriculum
Zines made by Lehman College students will be accepted with oversight by the Head of Technical Services
Zines about zines, zine-making, and zine culture
Zines by people of color or that consider issues of diversity, race, culture, and identity
Two copies of every issue will be submitted: one non-circulating but available for browsing and accessible during Library hours - and a second copy deposited in Special Collections.
by Youtuber: Lollalane
Zine on the Asian Diaspora: http://www.hainamana.com/radical-raw-and-real-asian-diaspora-activism-through-zine-making/
Globalization and Migration Zine: https://www.afsc.org/document/globalization-and-migration-zine
We are Restless Zine (climate change): http://wearerestless.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/climate-change-zine.pdf
Climate Change Revolution: http://climaterevolution.co.uk/wp/2016/09/12/the-zine-no-1/
Be part of the Lehman College Experience!
We'll put them in our catalog and make them available for folks to read. Share your art / ideas / personal reflections / comics!