Skip to main content

Linking to Library E-Resources in Blackboard: Articles

Linking to Articles from Library Databases

When making an article available within Blackboard, it is best, whenever possible, to provide a link to the article from the library's databases, rather than uploading a PDF. Making additional copies of a work may violate Fair Use.

Similarly, when sharing an article link via email or elsewhere, do not copy and paste the URL from the address bar of a web browser since these links can change over time. A Permalink (permanent link) allows you to easily access an article at a later date. Follow the instructions below for linking to articles from the OneSearch, JSTOR, EBSCO, Proquest, Gale and LexisNexis databases.

Linking to Articles in OneSearch

In order to link to an item from OneSearch you will need:

  • the permalink (a stable URL) for each item

Permalinks generated by OneSearch automatically ensure that all links you create will be routed through the Library's proxy server to permit off-campus access by your students.

  1. When looking at an item record in OneSearch, click on More options to show the Permalink icon, and then click on it and copy it. Paste Permalink URL into Blackboard Course site.


 

 

Linking to Articles in JSTOR

To add a direct link to an article from JSTOR into Blackboard you will need your campus’s proxy server URL and the stable URL of the article from JSTOR.

  • Proxy Server URL
  • Stable URL from JSTOR

Step 1. Lehman College's Proxy Server URL is: http://lehman.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=. To find additional CUNY campus Proxy Server URL's go to: http://support.cunylibraries.org/libraries/proxy-servers


Step 2. To find the stable URL from JSTOR, locate the JSTOR article. Above the article under the bibliographic information it should be listed. It will look like this: Once you have these two URL’s you will put them together with no spaces and then place that continuous link in Blackboard as the full text link to the article.

PROXY URL                                                     STABLE URL

[ http://lehman.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=][http://www.jstor.org/stable/1568713]

Example link for Lehman College:

http://lehman.ezproxy.cuny.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/1568713

Linking to Articles in LexisNexis

To find the Permalink in LexisNexis, first click on the Copy Document Link widget; then, in the pop-up window right click on the article's title and select Copy Link Location.

Linking to Articles in EBSCO Databases

To add a direct link to an article from one of the EBSCO databases into Blackboard you will need to locate the Permalink for the article.

Step 1. To find the Permalink from EBSCO, locate the EBSCO article. Beside the article you will see a list of output options under Tools (Print, Email, Save, etc). Click on the Permalink option.
 

Step 2.  The Permalink will appear at the top of the article. Copy and paste this URL into your Blackboard site. The URL automatically includes your school’s EZ Proxy prefix, so that users are prompted to authenticate when accessing the article.

Linking to Articles in ProQuest Databases

To add a direct link to an article from one of the ProQuest databases in Blackboard you will need the Document URL for the article.  When looking at the record for an article, to locate the Document URL, click on Abstract/Details.

Then copy and paste the Document URL into your Blackboard course site.

Linking to Articles in Gale Databases

To find the Permalink in Gale databases, first click on Bookmark; then copy the Bookmark URL.