Skip to main content

Foreign Language Education: Books

This guide provides an overview of foreign language education resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

OneSearch

OneSearch
Use this search box to find books, articles, ebooks, and media.
 
What am I searching?  

Overview & Background Information

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms. The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains numerous education encyclopedias and handbooks.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (outside CUNY) for Books & Journal Articles (For Grad Students & Faculty)

  • Go to: http://lehman.cuny.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html
  • Click on  "First Time Users" to set up account.
  • Fill out form and create a login to ILLiad.
  • When you search databases and click on "FindIt!", you can select Interlibrary Loan and log into ILLiad to request articles that are not available at Lehman.
  • From WorldCat, copy or type information on books that are available at other libraries into ILLiad and submit form for interlibrary loan.

 

Book Search Terms--Foreign Language Education

The following search terms and phrases may help you find books on topics related to foreign language education:

Language and languages

Language and languages--Study and teaching

Languages, Modern

Languages, Modern--Study and teaching

Use the following headings for specific languages:

Chinese language

French language

German language

Spanish language

The following sub headings may be used with the specific language headings listed above:

--Dialects

--Dictionaries

(Elementary)

--Grammar

(Secondary)

--Study and teaching

--Writing

E-Books on Foreign Language Education

Click on the link below to access the Library's e-book holdings on foreign language education.

Handbooks on Foreign Language Education

Located on the 3rd Floor of Leonard Lief Library

Encyclopedia of language and education. Dordrecht : Kluwer Academic, 1997. Lehman College Education Reference P40.8 .E53 1997 Non Circulating.

Encyclopedic dictionary of applied linguistics / edited by Keith Johnson and Helen Johnson. Oxford : Blackwell, 1999. Lehman College Education Reference P129 .E53 1999 Non Circulating.

Language education / edited by Jill Bourne and Euan Reid. London : Kogan Page, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference L101 .G8 Y4 2003 Non Circulating.