Skip to main content

TESOL: Books

This guide provides an overview of TESOL resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

OneSearch

OneSearch
Use this search box to find books, articles, ebooks, and media.
 
What am I searching?  

CUNY+

Search the CUNY+ Online Catalog to find books, multimedia materials, and other resources.


| Guided Search | My Account

Overview & Background Information

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms.

Handbooks on Bilingual Education

Located on the 3rd Floor of Leonard Lief Library

Encyclopedia of bilingual education / edited by Josue Gonzalez. Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2008. Lehman College Education Reference LC3707 .E523 2008 v.1-2 Non Circulating

Handbook of early childhood literacy. London : SAGE, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference - LB1139.5 .L35 H36 2003

Handbook of research on literacy and diversity / edited by Lesley Mandel Morrow, Robert Rueda, and Diane Lapp. New York : Guilford Press, c2009. Lehman College Education Reference LB1576 .H2337 2009 Non Circulating

Rethinking identity and literacy education in the 21st century / edited by Sandra Schamroth Abrams and Jennifer Rowsell. New York : Teachers College, Columbia University [2011]. Lehman College Education Reference LB5 .N25 110th pt. 1 Non Circulating

 

 

Book Search Terms--TESOL

The following search terms and phrases may help you find books on topics related to TESOL:

Education, bilingual

English Language--Study and teaching--Foreign speakers

Language and languages--Study and teaching

Language and languages--Study and teaching--Bilingual method

Second language acquisition

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (outside CUNY) for Books & Journal Articles

  • Go to: http://lehman.cuny.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html
  • Click on  "First Time Users" to set up account.
  • Fill out form and create a login to ILLiad.
  • When you search databases and click on "FindIt!", you can select Interlibrary Loan and log into ILLiad to request articles that are not available at Lehman.
  • Find resources in WorldCat (link below) and then copy or type information on books that are available at other libraries into ILLiad and submit form for interlibrary loan.