Skip to main content

Special Education: Books

This guide provides an overview of special education resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

OneSearch

OneSearch
Use this search box to find books, articles, ebooks, and media.
 
What am I searching?  

CUNY+

Search the CUNY+ Online Catalog to find books, multimedia materials, and other resources.


| Guided Search | My Account

Overview & Background Information

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (outside CUNY) for Books & Journal Articles (For Grad Students & Faculty)

  • Go to: http://lehman.cuny.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html
  • Click on  "First Time Users" to set up account.
  • Fill out form and create a login to ILLiad.
  • When you search databases and click on "FindIt!", you can select Interlibrary Loan and log into ILLiad to request articles that are not available at Lehman.
  • From WorldCat, copy or type information on books that are available at other libraries into ILLiad and submit form for interlibrary loan.

 

Handbooks on Special Education in Library

Located on the 3rd Floor of the Leonard Lief Library

Advances in special education / edited by Anthony F. Rotatori, (Festus E. Obiakor, and Jeffrey P. Bakken). Bingley, UK : Emerald Group Publishing Limited, 2011. Lehman College Education Reference LC3950 .A36 Non Circulating

Handbook of language and literacy : development and disorders / edited by C. Addison Stone... [et al.]. New York : Guilford Press, c2004. Lehman College Education Reference LC149 .H27 2004 Non Circulating

Handbook of learning disabilities / edited by H. Lee Swanson, Karen R. Harris, Steve Graham. New York : Guilford Press, c2003. Lehman College Education Reference LC4704 .H364 2003 Non Circulating

Handbook of special and remedial education : research and practice / edited by Margaret C. Wang, Maynard C. Reynolds, and Herbert J. Walberg. Oxford, OX, UK ; Tarrytown, NY, USA : Pergamon, 1995. Lehman College Education Reference LC3965 .H263 1995 Non Circulating

Book Search Terms

The following Subject Headings may help you find books in the catalog on special education topics:

Child Development Deviations

Children with Disabilities

Inclusive Education

Learning Disabled Children

Learning Disorders

Mainstreaming Education

Remedial Education

Special Education

Special Education Curriculum

Tips on CLICS and ILLiad

  1. You need your Library Barcode Number for CLICS and ILLiad.
  2. Your Library Barcode Number is on the front of your Lehman I.D. card (e.g. 2 1982 01234 1234 ).
  3. Register your I.D. card at the Library Circulation Desk before you use CLICS or ILLiad for the first time.