Skip to main content

PHI 172 / Ferguson: Databases & Journals

College Now

E-Journals Finder

Search for a specific journal by title

Browse e-journals by subject

Searching Tips

Databases are collections of journals on a particular topic... so searching one database searches multiple journals. You can tell what subjects are covered by some databases just from their titles (such as Education Full Text or PsycINFO) while others are more ambiguous (such as JSTOR or ERIC), so it's always a good idea to look at the descriptions provided with the databases.

Searching in a database is similar to the searches you carry out in the library's book catalog. You can search by title, author, keyword, or subject. Just like the catalog, searching a database by subject will provide the best results. However, the terminology used in database subject searching is very particular and you may be unfamiliar with the phrasing used by the system. Doing a keyword search is your best bet.

The following are only some of the databases to which the Lehman Library subscribes. For more, go to the library's website <http://www.lehman.edu/library/>, click on the "Find Articles" tab, and choose "Databases by Subject." You can pick "Philosophy" and "Current Events" and "Encyclopedias" to find even more relevant databases.

Article Databases

Encyclopedias

Newspapers

E-Resources from Off-Campus

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their Library Barcode.

Need Help?
To login, enter your barcode without spaces or dashes. The barcode is located on the front of your ID Card:

Lehman College student ID

Your barcode must be activated in the CUNY library system.
Your account must not have any outstanding fines.
To activate your barcode, visit your Library’s Circulation Desk.

To report a problem, please contact Lehman’s Electronic Resources-Systems Librarian, Sean.OHeir@lehman.cuny.edu, 718-960-6760.

Watch our Video

Still have Problems/Questions/Comments?
Contact the Library via Ask Us-24/7.