Skip to main content

RefWorks: Adding In-Text Citations

Using Write-N-Cite Plugin

Write-N-Cite is a Microsoft Word plugin that allows you to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in your word processor. It works with Microsoft Word to create citations while you are writing your paper. With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript instantly. There are multiple versions of Write-N-Cite available, depending on your computer's operating system.

  1. To download Write-N-Cite, click on Tools on the toolbar in RefWorks, then select Write-N-Cite:
    RefWorks | Tools | Write-N-Cite
    A lightbox will appear with instructions for downloading and installing the plugin.
  2. Once installed, a Write-N-Cite button will appear in your Microsoft Word toolbar (in Word 2007, it will appear under the "Add-ins" tab) or as an icon on your desktop.
  3. Click on the button to launch Write-N-Cite. It will open a new window and ask you to log in. After logging in with your RefWorks login and password, you will see a list of your references.
    NOTE: You can keep the Write-N-Cite window always visible by checking the box at the top of the window that says "Always on top."
  4. Click on View in the Write-N-Cite toolbar, then Folder to choose the folder that contains the references you need to insert in your paper.
  5. In your Word document, place the cursor in the text where you need to insert a citation. Then, click on Cite to the left of the reference you are citing. A placeholder (that looks like {{6 Seitz,Justin 2009}}) will appear in your text. This placeholder connects your paper to your RefWorks account.
  6. After you have entered all the placeholders into your paper and saved your document a final time, click on Bibliography on the Write-N-Cite toolbar. Choose your Output Style and click on "Create Bibliography."
  7. The placeholders in your paper and a bibliography have been formated in the style you chose.
  8. Proofread and save your paper.

Using "Cite" in RefWorks

If you are unable to download and install Write-N-Cite on your computer, you may use the Cite function in RefWorks to create in-text citations:

  1. When viewing your references, click [Cite] icon to the right of the brief citation, under the Actions heading.
  2. A lightbox will appear with a citation placeholder: {{6 Seitz,Justin 2009;}}
  3. Copy and paste the citation placeholder where you want the in-text citation to appear in your document.
  4. Remember to periodically save your paper with these placeholders.
  5. After you have entered all the placeholders into your paper and saved your document a final time, close your document.
  6. Click [Create Bibliography] button in the toolbar at the top of the screen.
  7. Choose your Output Style.
  8. Select Format Paper and Bibliography.
  9. Browse for your document and upload the file.
  10. Click [Create Bibliography] button in the bottom-right of the lightbox.
  11. A final version of your paper is created. The placeholders and your bibliography are formated in the style you chose.
  12. Proofread and save your paper.

ProQuest for Word

If you're a RefWorks Flow user, you may wish to install the ProQuest for Word plugin.