Skip to main content

RefWorks: Creating Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography

RefWorks will create a bibliography of references for you. You may create a bibliography of all of your references, of a temporary list of references you've chosen ("My List"), or of references in a specific folder.  To get started, click on located in the toolbar at the top of the page. A lightbox will appear that will allow you to customize your bibliography:

  1. Choose your Output Style from the dropdown menu. You may also preview the style by clicking on "Preview."
  2. Next, choose the File Type from the dropdown menu near the bottom of the screen (i.e. a Word file, an HTML file, etc.).
  3. Click on Create Bibliography located at the bottom, right-hand side of the page.
  4. Your bibliography is automatically created in the style and file type you chose.

Remember to proofread your bibliography to ensure completeness and accuracy!

Output Styles

In addition to the familiar APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian, you can choose from hundreds of society and journal styles, such as the Academy of Management Journal style or the stylesheet for the journal Zoonoses and Public Health. Use the Output Style Manager to select the styles you use most often in your work.

The Output Style Manager (from the Bibliography option in the toolbar at the top of the page) allows you to create an abbreviated, custom version of the RefWorks output style list. This makes it easier for you to navigate and locate the styles you use most often. You can establish your Favorites, which always display at the top of the output style drop-down in the Bibliography area, when adding or editing references, or when using Write-N-Cite.