Skip to main content

RefWorks: Adding References

Importing Citations

CUNY's library catalog and many of the databases to which the Lehman College library subscribes support direct exportation of references to RefWorks.  Look for an export function in a database after completing your search.

The following are instructions for exporting citations from some of the library's popular databases:

Catalog Entries

Export a book reference from the library catalog:

  • Perform a search as usual.
  • Click on the title of the book you'd like to export.
  • Click on the link in the top that reads Save/Mail/Export.
  • In the form that appears, change the Record format field to "Full View."  (Leave all other fields blank.) 
  • Click [Go] button.
  • Click on the Export to RefWorks link.
  • RefWorks will open in a new window (Note: If you are not currently logged into RefWorks, you will be asked to sign in. If a new window does not open, make sure pop-up windows are enabled in your browser.)
  • The reference(s) you exported will appear in your Last Imported Folder.

Exporting from EBSCOhost Databases

Export an article from EBSCOhost databases:

  • Perform a search as usual.
  • Click on the title of the article you'd like to export.
  • Click on [Export] icon, which can be found in the toolbar located in the right-hand column of the page.
  • In the list of options, under "Save citations to a file formatted for," select "Direct Export to RefWorks."
  • Click [Save] button.
  • In the window that pops up, select the option on the left, "Export to Legacy RefWorks."
  • RefWorks will open with a new window. (Note: If you are not currently logged into RefWorks, you will be asked to sign in. If a new window does not open, make sure pop-up windows are enabled on your browser.)
  • The reference will appear in your Last Imported Folder.

Exporting from JSTOR

Export a citation from JSTOR:

  • Perform a search as usual.
  • Click on the title of the article you'd like to export.
  • Click on "Cite This Item", which can be found on the right side of the page.
  • Click on "Export to RefWorks" toward the bottom of the window.
  • In the window that pops up, select the options on the left, "Export to Legacy RefWorks."
  • RefWorks will open in a new window. (Note: If you are not currently logged into RefWorks, you will be asked to sign in. If a new window does not open, make sure pop-up windows are enabled on your browser.)
  • The reference you exported will appear in your Last Imported Folder.

Exporting from Scopus

Export a citation from Scopus:

  • Perform a search as usual.
  • Click on the title of the article you'd like to export.
  • Click on [Export] link, which can be found in the toolbar located toward the top of the page.
  • Make sure "Export" is selected as the desired output type for the selected document.
  • If it's not already selected, choose "RefWorks direct export" as the Export format.
  • Click [Export] button.
  • In the window that pops up, select the options on the left, "Export to Legacy RefWorks."
  • RefWorks will open in a new window.  (Note: If you are not currently logged into RefWorks, you will be asked to sign in. If a new window does not open, make sure pop-up windows are enabled on your browser.)
  • The reference you exported will appear in your Last Imported Folder.

Exporting from PubMed

Unlike most databases, exporting citations from PubMed is a complicated process:

  • Perform a search as usual.
  • Click on the title of the article you'd like to export.
  • Click on Send to:, which can be found in the top-right corner.
  • In the list, choose File and select "MEDLINE" as the Format.

  • Click .
  • Save the text (.txt) file, making note of where it is stored on your hard drive.
  • Proceed to RefWorks. Hover over "References" in the main menu and select "import."

  • In the window that pops up, select From Text File.
  • Choose "NLM PubMed" from the Import Filter/Data Source menu.
  • Select "PubMed" from the Database menu.
  • Use the "Browse" button to find your text file.
  • Choose the folder in which you want this citation to reside. (Optional.)
  • Click .
  • The reference you imported will appear in your Last Imported Folder.

Direct Export

The following is a list of some of the databases that have a Direct Export feature:

  • ABC-CLIO
  • BioMed Central
  • Blackwell Synergy
  • CQ Press
  • CSA
  • ebrary
  • EBSCOhost
  • Google Scholar
  • HighWire
  • IEEE
  • JSTOR
  • LexisNexis Academic
  • NISC
  • OCLC
  • OVID
  • Project Muse
  • ProQuest
  • Sage Journals Online
  • ScienceDirect
  • Scitopia.org
  • Scopus
  • Thomson Gale via OpenURL Link
  • WilsonWeb via WilsonLink

For a complete list, visit www.refworks.com.