Skip to main content

LSP 350 / Case: Database Searching

Expressionist Theatre and Film

Finding Databases

1. Go to Library website:   http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/library  

2. Click on Database A-Z List 

3. Browse Theater Databases

Search Tutorials - Academic Journal Databases

Databases at NYPL

Most of the theater related databases available through the New York Public Library are only accessible at one of the research branches in the system. You can locate the research libraries (mostly at the Performing Arts Library) at: http://www.nypl.org/locations

Theatre Resources

Film Resources

Some NYPL film & theater databases of note:

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Formerly known as Film/TV Documentation Collections, FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs. It is an essential reference work for any film researcher and contains a wide range of databases: International Index to Film Periodicals, Treasures from Film Archives, Documentation Collections and FIAF Members' Publications.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.

International Index for the Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA)
IIPA covers the subjects of dance, film, television, drama, recorded sound,theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Contains over 172,013 records providing current and retrospective coverage, with citations dating back to 1864.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.

Film Indexes Online
Includes Film Index International (British Film Institute) and the AFI Catalog (American Film Institute), covering all eras of filmmaking from the early silents to recent box-office hits.

"Find-It!" & ILLiad

Search results contain some articles that only have citations and abstracts.  "FIND-IT!" generates a search on all subscription databases at Lehman to locate the FULL TEXT of these articles.